REVIEW: Pizzeria Luigi

Being a huge Food Network fan that I am, I made it a personal mission to visit all of the places that Guy Fieri from Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives visited in San Diego. First stop on the list, Pizzeria Luigi.

This place is amazing. If you love thin crust pizza and fresh ingredients, then you will definitely enjoy this place. I went to the North Park location first with 3 other friends and we each ordered 2 slices. It was a great lunch deal that was $6 for 2 slices and a drink. I got a slice of the Capone (pepperoni, sausage, and meatball) and a slice of the spinach & ricotta cheese. This may sound like an exaggeration, but it’s not: THIS WAS THE BEST PIZZA I HAVE EVER HAD. Bold statement, I know. This pizza was perfect, it was not greasy at all, the crust was thin and perfectly baked, the toppings were fresh and delicious. My favorite topping was the ricotta cheese. It was smooth and creamy, not too sweet, not too salty. I would eat around the slice, so my last bite would be a glob of ricotta.. that’s how good it was. The Capone was just a little salty because of all the meat, but it was still delicious and I would definitely order it again. In fact, I have been craving Pizzeria Luigi for awhile now, but haven’t had the time to drive all the way there for pizza, but I’m sure I will make the time soon.. it is far too good to pass up. I also love the interior of the place; it was really casual, had wooden tables, and some board games in the corner that you can play while waiting for your pizza. I can’t wait to come back and order different slices. (And at this location, there is a chocolate shop right next door that has amazing cupcakes! I will write a review of that place in a later post, so be on the look out!)

I also went to the second location in Golden Hill, and this is the one that Guy Fieri visited on Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives, so I had to check it out. I ordered two slices: one slice had ricotta cheese, marinara, and sausage; the other slice had ricotta cheese, jalapeno, and pepperoni. Unfortunately, these pizzas were a little greasier than at the other location, but it’s still not as bad as your neighborhood Pizzahut, Dominos, or Papa John’s. I really wished there were more jalapenos on my second slice because it gave the pizza a nice little kick, but it wasn’t the type of jalapeno that would burn the insides of my mouth. Again, I ate around the slices so my last bite would be ricotta cheese. They are doing something right with that ricotta cheese, it is insanely good! The interior was pretty casual like the other location. There were old magazines and cut-outs that they stuck underneath the glass top of the table, so it gave you something to look at while you’re waiting/eating. The kitchen area at both locations were fairly open, so you could see the workers making the pizza and throwing the dough up in the air which was pretty cool.

I definitely recommend trying out Pizzeria Luigi. The prices are good and the pizza is delicious. You can’t go wrong!

Here’s the clip from Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives:

And here’s their website so you can check out their menu: http://pizzerialuigi.com/

Leave a Reply

