Reflection: Tragedy in Connecticut

I didn’t know where else to write all of this or how much it’ll make sense (just stream of consciousness at this point), so here it goes. I woke up this morning to news of what happened in Connecticut. First of all, my heart & condolences go out to every family who lost a loved one in the wake of this horrible tragedy. Also, to the children who survived, but lost their innocence at such a young age by bearing witness to such a sight. I can’t even begin to wrap my head around this situation. I don’t have any kids of my own, but I have young nephews that I can’t even imagine what I would do if anything happened to them.

People are quick to point fingers at the lack of gun control in this country. I, to a degree, agree with them. However, no matter how tight gun control becomes, there will always be people out there that will own guns, illegally or not. It’s not guns that kill people, it’s the person behind the gun pulling that trigger. Guns, knives, bats, bare hands, etc. are just props for the person with the malicious intent to harm others. And in this case, it was someone who chose a gun and pulled that trigger… repeatedly, at young children who didn’t have a care in the world. They were the innocent of the innocents, only having to worry about what they were having for lunch and who they were playing with at recess. They had their whole lives ahead of them with new milestones and experiences to accomplish.

As an individual, reading about what happened, I can’t help but to be curious as to the SIGNS. Were there any signs, big or small, that would’ve indicated that something was wrong with this person? I hope that we can all take the time to get to know the people in our lives and be able to help each other out in times of need. Keep the line of dialogue open with each other, so hopefully things like this won’t happen again. If something like this can be prevented by a conversation or a simple “Is everything okay?”, then I know I’ll do my best to do it. Then again, it could be a deeper mental/psychological issue that a conversation can’t help; I’m not an expert by any means. I’m just a person that wishes the world was a safe and peaceful place. This just makes me realize how life can easily change within seconds.

The world is a crappy place. =/

Stay strong, Connecticut. My prayers are with you.

(Go to www.cnn.com for the latest updates)

Leave a Reply

